Home > Uncategorized > A great, living, ancient tradition – The Kumbh Mela

A great, living, ancient tradition – The Kumbh Mela


MARIA WIRTH

During the Kumbh Mela in Haridwar in 2010, a Frenchman exclaimed, “Oh, it must have been so different then” when he came to know that I was in 1986 at the Kumbh already. “No, it was not”, I realised. It was very much the same. It may have been the same for centuries. This year, the purna Kumbh Mela is in Ujjain and the Ardh Kumbh in Haridwar.

Here is my description from that time (translated from my German book):

Luckily I don’t get afraid, when I am stuck in a crowd; otherwise India would be the wrong country for me. I actually enjoy the atmosphere, so incredibly colourful and diverse, a wave of human beings that carries everyone along, innumerable pair of eyes meeting my eyes, fleetingly, friendly – for a short while thrown together at the same place.

So when I heard that the full Kumbh Mela will…

View original post 2,784 more words

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

